top of page
Search

NWD Today: MnDOT Unveils Myriad of Interstate 94 Construction Projects, Including STMA

Wright County drivers and commuters should be gearing up for some short term pain that will, hopefully, bring some long term gain to Interstate 94 in the area.


This summer crews will start work on more than three years worth of construction improvements to I-94 between Maple Grove and Clearwater. This work will expand the freeway, replace pavement, repair bridges, build an interchange at Dayton Parkway (formerly Brockton Road), provide new safety features and improve freight access.


Work starts this summer when crews build temporary lanes between Maple Grove and Rogers. Preliminary work between St. Michael and Albertville begins in summer/fall 2019, and between Monticello and Clearwater in fall of 2019.

The improvements on this 39-mile stretch of I-94 will take about three years to complete. Motorists can expect reduced speeds, lane closures and occasional ramp closures.


Transportation funding has been one of the top priorities I’ve been fighting for.

MnDOT has broken down the work into four main projects, which will transpire from 2019 to 2022. The stretch of I-94 brought into play by this array of projects is nearly 40 miles, from the Fish Lake Interchange in Maple Grove all the way to the Clearwater exit at Minnesota Highway 24.


Wright County-based Legislator Rep. Eric Lucero said the improvements on I-94 are long overdue for truck drivers and commuters.


“This is fantastic news for our community,” Lucero said. “Roads and bridges transportation funding has been one of the top priorities I’ve been fighting for during my time in office and improvements to I-94 will reduce congestion for tens of thousands of hardworking people.”


Lucero and Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer were chief authors of Corridors of Commerce project funding for I-94 in St. Michael and Albertville that was signed into law in 2017. MnDOT announced in 2018 Corridors of Commerce funding would be allocated to expand I-94 to three lanes in both directions between St. Michael and Albertville.


“I’m proud Sen. Kiffmeyer and I successfully achieved securing funding for the Corridors of Commerce program that will greatly benefit and continue the economic growth of our great community,” Lucero said.

bottom of page